Sri Lanka appoints Colombo Port City Commission members


COLOMBO – President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has appointed seven members to the Colombo Port City Commission, with President’s Counsel (PC) Gamini Marapana as its Chairman.

A statement from the president’s office named the other six members as Secretary to the Treasury, S. R. Attygalle; Secretary to the Ministry of Water Supply Ministry, Dr. Priyath Bandu Wickrama;  former chairman, Board of Investment, Saliya Wickramasuriya;  Chairman and Managing Director, Orel Corporation, Kushan Kodituwakku; Managing Director, Mercantile Investment and Finance, Gerard Ondaatjie; and Chairman and Managing Director, McLarens Group,  Rohan De Silva.

The controversial bill was passed in Parliament on May 20 subject to amendments following a Supreme Court decision, amid protest from opposition parties, activists, and members of the clergy.  It was signed and validated by Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena on Thursday (27) a public holiday.

Critics including former president Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga have accused the government of rushing the bill and endangering Sri Lanka’s sovereignty.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.