Kumar Nadesan to be conferred India’s Prestigious Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award

COLOMBO – Kumar Nadesan, Managing Director of the 92-year-old Virakesari newspaper, published by Express Newspapers Ceylon Ltd (ENCL), is the only Sri Lankan among 27 eminent personalities from across the world named as recipients of India’s coveted Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards 2023. Conferred by the President of India, the Awards honour exceptional and meritorious contributions by the recipients in their chosen field/profession, both in India and abroad.

Nadesan serves as Chairman of the Sri Lanka Press Institute, Chairman of the Press Complaints Commission of Sri Lanka and represents the Newspaper Society of Sri Lanka, is also President of the Global organization of people of Indian origin (Sri Lanka). He has been a recipient of the ‘Service above Self’ from Rotary International for community work. The Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award is being conferred on him in recognition of to contribution to community welfare.

The 17th edition of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas is scheduled to be held from January 8 to10 in Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India, with Droupadi Murmu, President of India conferring the Awards

A Jury-cum-Awards Committee, with Jagdeep Dhankhar, Vice-President of India as the Chairman, Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, External Affairs Minister as the Vice-Chair and other distinguished members from various walks of life considered the nominations for the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards 2023 and unanimously selected the 27 eminent personalities for conferment of the Awards.

The awardees, who achieved excellence in different fields, include Jagadish Chennupati of Australia in the field of science, technology and education; Sanjeev Mehta of Bhutan in education; Dilip Loundo of Brazil in art, culture and education; Alexander Maliakel John of Brunei in medicine; Vaikuntam Iyer Lakshmanan of Canada in community welfare; Joginder Singh Nijjar of Croatia in art and culture; Ramjee Prasad of Denmark in IT; Kannan Ambalam of Ethiopia in community welfare; Reena Vinod Pushkarna of Israel in business and community welfare; Piyush Gupta of Singapore in business; and  Mohanlal Hira and Sanjaykumar Shivabhai Patel of South Sudan in community welfare.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.